Eastern Men’s Basketball Receives NABC Team Excellence Award

Eagles under head coach Jim Hayford are among the 126 colleges and universities honored by the National Association of Basketball Coaches with a team GPA of 3.0

NABC News Release

With a team grade point average of 3.07 in the 2013-14 school year, the Eastern Washington University men's basketball team has been honored with the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) Team Academic Excellence Award announced Wednesday (July 23).

"I am really proud of the hard work performed by our team in the classroom," said Eastern head coach Jim Hayford. "We want our players to be over-achievers in every area of life. The classroom is the foundation of achievement for anything our players accomplish."

The award was won by 126 colleges and universities for having have team cumulative grade point average of 3.0 and above for the 2013-14 season. Teams in NCAA Division I, II, II and NAIA Division I and II were eligible. Earlier this week, the NABC announced individual "Honors Court" recipients, and Eagles Tyler Harvey, guard Daniel Hill and forward Martin Seiferth were recognized for having a cumulative grade point averages of 3.20 or higher.

Besides Harvey, Hill and Seiferth, other players on the 2013-14 team included Drew Brandon, Nate Galgalo, Venky Jois, Parker Kelly, Ognjen Miljokovic, Garrett Moon, Thomas Reuter and Felix Von Hofe, as well as redshirts Frederik Jorg and Sir Washington.

Six of the players – Hill, Harvey, Jois, Miljkovic, Reuter and Seiferth – were honored on the Big Sky Conference All-Academic Team.

View: Mobile | Desktop