Annual Football Awards Banquet on Sunday, Feb. 13

A total of 14 seniors from EWU's national championship team, including Buck Buchanan award winner J.C. Sherritt, will be honored as awards from the 2010 season are presented

The annual Eastern Washington University Football Awards Banquet will take place Sunday, Feb. 13 at 1 p.m. at the Pence Union Building Multipurpose Room on the EWU campus in Cheney, Wash.

Cost is $30 per person, and the event includes dinner and video productions with highlights from the 2010 season. Tickets must be purchased in advance by calling 509-359-2463. The deadline is Feb. 11 and no walk-ups will be accepted.

Team awards will be presented and other accomplishments acknowledged, including recognition of the team's 14 seniors off the 2010 NCAA Division I championship team. One of the seniors is Buck Buchanan award winner J.C. Sherritt, who ended his career with a school-record 432 tackles, including the top two single season performances in EWU and Big Sky Conference history with 176 (2010) and 170 (2009). His award, as well as EWU's championship trophies, will be on display at the banquet.

Eastern's 2010 football team won the national title after qualifying for the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision Playoffs for the fifth time in the last seven years. The Eagles won their final 11 games of the season, as Eastern garnered its 13th winning season in the last 15 years.

More on EWU's 2010 season may be found at:

View: Mobile | Desktop