Eastern Wins Best “Sports Story of the Year” Award in Seattle

National Championship season honored at Sports Star of the Year Event in Seattle

More Information on the Event

The Eastern Washington University football team received one more accolade Wednesday (Jan. 25) for its sensational 2010 season, winning “Sports Story of the Year” at the 77th Annual Sports Star of the Year awards show at Benaroya Hall in Seattle, Wash. The event was hosted by the Seattle Sports Commission and presented by Root Sports™.

The winner of the 2010 NCAA Division I Football Championship back on Jan. 7, 2011 with a come-from-behind 20-19 win over Delaware, Eastern beat out four other finalists in fan voting for the award. Head football coach Beau Baldwin and athletic director Bill Chaves accepted the honor on behalf of EWU.

Nominees were selected by the Sports Star of the Year Committee, which is comprised of local sports historians, media and representatives of all major programs and franchises. Since its creation in 1936, there have been nearly 100 Sports Stars honored at this event.

Sports Story of the Year Winner: Eastern Washington Football wins NCAA FCS National Championship

Other Nominees for the Sports Story of the Year . . .

  • Seahawks stun the Saints in NFC Playoffs
  • Sounders FC wins third straight US Open Cup
  • Locals Hope Solo and Stephanie Cox lead the US Women’s Soccer team to the World Cup Final
  • University of Washington Crew wins third National Title in last five years


Professional Sports Star of the Year Winner: Kasey Keller (Seattle Sounders FC)

Other Nominees for Professional Sports Star of the Year . . .

  • Jason Terry (Dallas Mavericks)
  • Brandon League (Seattle Mariners)
  • Dave Villwock (Hydroplane Driver)
  • Earl Thomas (Seattle Seahawks)

Male Sports Star of the Year Winner: Chris Polk (University of Washington Football)

Other Nominees for the Male Sports Star of the Year . . .

  • Chris Williams (University of Washington Golf)
  • Isaiah Thomas (University of Washington Basketball)
  • Jeshua Anderson (Washington State University Track)
  • Nathan Adrian (University of California Swimming)

Female Sports Star of the Year Winner: Courtney Vandersloot (Gonzaga University Basketball)

Other Nominees for the Female Sports Star of the Year . . .

  • Jenn Salling (University of Washington Softball)
  • Julie Woodward (Seattle University Women’s Soccer Head Coach)
  • Maddie Meyers (Northwest High School Runner)
  • Queen Underwood (USA Boxing)
View: Mobile | Desktop