Practices Start Next Wednesday

Eagles begin preparations for opener on Aug. 30 at Idaho

Less than a month away from its season opener, the Eastern Washington University football team will start preseason practices next week in Cheney, Wash.

Players will report on Aug. 6 and 7, then the team will practice together on Wednesday, Aug. 8 at 3 p.m. Eastern will practice in pads for the first time on Saturday, Aug. 11 at 4 p.m., followed by its first of five days of two-a-day practices on Aug. 13.

The Eagles, who won the 2010 NCAA Division I Football Championship and have been to the FCS Playoffs in five of the last eight years, will scrimmage twice before the team’s season opener on Aug. 30 at Idaho.

Eastern’s first scrimmage of preseason camp will take place on Saturday, Aug. 18 at approximately 11:30 a.m., and a second scrimmage will take place less than a week later on Aug. 23 at about 12:20 p.m.

Both scrimmages are free and open to the public, and will take place on the red Sprinturf surface at Roos Field. Other practices will either take place at the EWU Sports and Recreation Center practice fields or Roos Field.

 

Tentative Schedule of EWU Practices

(Times are subject to change. Location will either be the Sports and Recreation Center practice fields or Roos Field. Practices usually last for two hours. Media interviews take place after practice and scrimmages, or 20-30 minutes before the practice time listed; No interviews two days or less before day of games)

Monday, Aug. 6 - Newcomers Report; Orientation & Conditioning
Tuesday, Aug. 7 - Veterans Report; Orientation & Conditioning
Wednesday, Aug. 8 - 3 p.m. - First Practice
Thursday, Aug. 9 - 3 p.m.
Friday, Aug. 10 - 9 a.m.
Saturday, Aug. 11 - 4 p.m. (first practice in full pads)
Sunday, Aug. 12 - 4 p.m.
Monday, Aug. 13 - 9 a.m. & 3 p.m.
Tuesday, Aug. 14 - 3 p.m.
Wednesday, Aug. 15 - 9 a.m. & 3 p.m.
Thursday, Aug. 16 - 3 p.m.
Friday, Aug. 17 - 9 a.m. & 3 p.m.
Saturday, Aug. 18 - Scrimmage, approx. 11:30 a.m., Roos Field
Sunday, Aug. 19 – Off
Monday, Aug. 20 – 10:30 a.m. & 3 p.m.
Tuesday, Aug. 21 - 3 p.m.
Wednesday, Aug. 22 - 9 a.m. & 3 p.m.
Thursday, Aug. 23 - Scrimmage, approx. 12:20 p.m., Roos Field
Friday, Aug. 24 – Off
Saturday, Aug. 25 – 4 p.m.
Sunday, Aug. 26 – 5:45 p.m.
Monday, Aug. 27 – 5:45 p.m.
Tuesday, Aug. 28 – 5:45 p.m.
Wednesday, Aug. 29 - 4 p.m.
Thursday, Aug. 30 – at Idaho, 6:05 p.m.


 
View: Mobile | Desktop