Eagles Scrimmage Saturday Expecting Better Weather

April 9, 2008

Beau Baldwin's calendar has gotten quite a workout lately.

But three important dates remain the same, including this Saturday (April 12) when Eastern Washington University will conclude its first week of spring football practices with a scrimmage at approximately 11 a.m. on the EWU Sports and Recreation Center practice fields.

Baldwin, the first-year head coach of the Eagles, had to revise his spring schedule yet again when snow forced him to cancel last Saturday's (April 5) practice. A week earlier, he had to delay the start of spring practice three days because of poor weather.

Baldwin originally added the first two missed practices to the team's schedule on the week of April 21, but he decided not to try to cram last Saturday's missed practice into his team's otherwise busy schedule. Instead, he revamped the schedule to enable the Eagles to practice three times after EWU's Red-White Spring Game on April 26 at 2 p.m. at Woodward Field.

Weather is expected to improve in the next few days, with Saturday's forecast calling for sunny skies and a high of 66.

The complete schedule is listed below, including another scrimmage on April 19 at Woodward Field at approximately 10:30 a.m. Despite the changes, Eastern will still be within NCAA rules to complete 15 practice/scrimmage dates in a 29-day span.

Baldwin welcomes back 47 returning letter winners, including 15 starters, from last year's 9-4 team that advanced to the quarterfinals of the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision Playoffs.

Remaining 2008 Spring Practice Schedule:
(begin at 3:20 p.m.; Media Interviews at 3 p.m.)
Friday, April 11
Tuesday, April 15
Wednesday, April 16
Thursday, April 17
Tuesday, April 22
Thursday, April 24
Tuesday, April 29
Thursday, April 30

2008 Spring Scrimmages:
(times/location tentative and subject to change)
Saturday, April 12 - 11 a.m. (EWU Sports & Recreation Center practice fields)
Saturday, April 19 - 10:30 a.m. (Woodward Field)
Saturday, April 26 - Red-White Game - 2 p.m. (Woodward Field)

View: Mobile | Desktop