Evans Named to Academic All-District First Team

Feb. 5, 2009

Academic All-District Teams in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

Kyla Evans of the Eastern Washington University women's basketball team has been named to the ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District 8 first team. The sophomore has shown her outstanding skills throughout the year, in the classroom and on the court.

Academically, Evans is carrying a 3.96 grade point average in EWU's Honors Program. The communication studies major has previously been named to the Big Sky Conference All-Academic team as a freshman and was honored as an Eastern Washington Scholar-Athlete of the Month for December.

The Brewster, Wash., native also helped the Eagles to a fourth-place spot on the NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Coaches Association Academic Honor Roll Top 25 as a freshman.

On the court, Evans is having a stellar year. She already has 102 career three-point baskets to her credit, just the fifth Eagle in school history to hit that mark. Her 50 treys this year are tied for sixth on that chart.

Nationally, she is 46th among 2008-09 NCAA Division I players in three-point baskets made per game (2.4) and 60th in three-point shooting percentage (37.0). She is second and eighth in the Big Sky in those respective statistical categories.

"Kyla really represents a consummate student-athlete," head coach Wendy Schuller said. "She makes us extremely proud of her efforts balancing school and basketball, and she does a great job in both areas. This is a great honor, especially for a sophomore who is still relatively young in both her basketball and academic careers."

As an All-District first team honoree, she will be considered for ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America accolades. Members of those prestigious teams will be announced Feb. 24.

Evans and the Eagles play at Sacramento State tonight (Feb. 5) at 7:05 p.m.

District 8 Honorees
First Team
Elizabeth Doran, Santa Clara
Kyla Evans, Eastern Washington
Brittany Halberg, UNLV
Kelsey Kahle, Portland State
Jami Schaefer, Gonzaga
Second Team
Kate Engelbrecht, Arizona State
Cassie King, BYU
Hayley Munro, Fresno State
Talisa Rhea, Oregon State
Lauren Sims, Long Beach State
Third Team
Katie Appleton, Washington State
Miranda Ayim, Pepperdine
Tara Cronin, Portland
Kate DePaepe, Portland State
Claire Faucher, Portland State
Anne Westwood Higbee, Southern Utah

All-District 8 honorees were selected from the states of Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Utah and Washington.

View: Mobile | Desktop